What is Shadow IT?

Shadow IT is the name given to improvised solutions developed by people more familiar with the business side of things than with IT, and developed using their means. One typical example is the use of spreadsheets.

Of course there are tasks that pop up one single time, in which case a makeshift solution is OK. However, a look at everyday business reality reveals that such stopgaps that were initially needed for a few days or weeks often end up being used for years. In some instances, an actual IT solution exists but would be too complicated to use; this could be because requirements have changed but cannot be accommodated without excessive use of resources, or because these solutions failed to take the users' needs into account in the first place. No matter the cause, the spreadsheet a certain staff member has on his or her C: drive sooner or later becomes a problem if it remains part of essential business processes.

Of course, these non-IT experts come up with such shadow IT solutions in a fraction of the time a "real" IT solution takes to develop. However, a good software solution can deliver invaluable benefits, including:

  • Software and file backup
  • Security
  • Operation by multiple users
  • Maintainability
  • Performance

Shadow IT can prove useful in that it provides an instant solution, but also for the developer to understand the exact requirements. However, sooner or later it is certainly advisable to think about replacing it with a proper IT solution. In order to maximize the benefit to the user, it can be helpful to use technologies that allow a relatively quick development of whatever solution is ultimately decided upon.

Old Tjikko (© Karl Brodowsky 2011 https://commons.wikimedia.org/wiki/File:Old-Tjikko-2011-07-19-001.jpg)

Dealing with shadow IT, which obviously exists to meet a real need, can be a head-scratcher.

Further Information:

IT Sky Consulting GmbH
Kirchgasse 17
8203 Schaffhausen
Switzerland
Phone: +41 79 2704802
info@it-sky-consulting.com

Was ist Schatten-IT

Als "Schatten-IT" werden hier ad-hoc-Lösungen bezeichnet, die oft von Personen, die mehr in der Business-Seite als in der IT zuhause sind, mit deren Werkzeugen entwickelt werden. Ein typisches Beispiel sind Tabellenkalkulationen.

Oft gibt es Aufgaben, die einmalig auftreten und für die so eine ad-hoc Lösung angemessen ist. Andererseits zeigt die Praxis, das Provisorien, die nur für ein paar Tage oder Wochen benötigt wurden, später jahrelang im Einsatz sind. Manchmal ist es auch zu kompliziert, die dafür sogar vorgesehenen IT-Lösungen zu nutzen, sei es weil dringend benötigte Änderungswünsche nicht oder nur mit unvertretabarem Aufwand umsetzbar sind, oder weil diese Lösungen an den Bedürfnissen der Nutzer vorbeigeplant worden sind. Und doch ist die Tabellenkalkulation, die ein bestimmter Mitarbeiter auf seinem Laufwerk C: hat, problematisch als dauerhafter Bestandteil von essentiellen Geschäftsprozessen.

Andererseits stellt man fest, dass solche "Schatten-IT"-Lösungen oft in einem Bruchteil der Zeit entwickelt werden, und zwar von Nicht-IT-Profis, die eine "richtige" Softwarelösung braucht. Dafür kann eine gute Softwarelösung Aspekte besser berücksichtigen, wie z.B.

  • Backup von Software und Daten
  • Security
  • Mehrbenutzerbetrieb
  • Wartbarkeit
  • Performance

Schatten-IT kann durchaus nützlich sein, um die Anforderungen genauer zu verstehen und um schnell eine Lösung zur Verfügung zu haben. Man sollte sich aber überlegen, ob es sich lohnt, diese längerfristig durch eine "richtige" IT-Lösung zu ersetzen. Damit dies sinnvoll möglich ist, kann es hilfreich sein, wenn man Technologien verwendet, die auch hier eine relativ schnelle Entwicklung der endgültigen Lösung ermöglichen.

Old Tjikko (© Karl Brodowsky 2011 http://commons.wikimedia.org/wiki/File:Old-Tjikko-2011-07-19-001.jpg)

Der Umgang mit Schatten-IT, die ja reale Bedürfnisse befriedigt, stellt eine Herausforderung dar.

Weitere Informationen:

IT Sky Consulting GmbH
Kirchgasse 17
8203 Schaffhausen
Schweiz
Telefon +41 79 2704802
info@it-sky-consulting.com