High Performance Systems

There are instances in IT where very large volumes of data have to be processed within a limited time period. Some will go for the option of throwing more hardware at the problem. That is an approach that will only get you so far because it neglects the vital aspect of parallelism.

It is essential to have a sound understanding of the actual situation in order to come up with better solutions. Perhaps it turns out that unnecessary, but resource-consuming calculations are being carried out. If this is the case, it is not necessarily obvious.

Sometimes all you need is better structures and algorithms and an adequate architecture to achieve improved performance.

More often than not, however, it turns out that only a targeted implementation of parallelism will bring about the required improvements. Developing for parallel computing requires a special level of care and awareness of the processes involved to make sure that the resulting application will not block itself or destroy its own data.

Merge Sort Algorithm (image is public domain: https://commons.wikimedia.org/wiki/File:Merge_sort_algorithm_diagram.svg)

Count on IT Sky Consulting to help you with any software project that requires special algorithms.

Further Information:

IT Sky Consulting GmbH
Kirchgasse 17
8203 Schaffhausen
Switzerland
Phone: +41 79 2704802
info@it-sky-consulting.com

High-Performance-Systeme

Gelegentlich braucht man in der IT Systeme, die sehr große Datenmengen in begrenzter Zeit verarbeiten müssen. Oft gibt es die Option, einfach mehr Hardware auf das Problem zu werfen. Aber dieser Ansatz hilft nicht immer weiter, weil man ohne Parallelisierung gar nicht mehr viel erreichen kann.

Wichtig ist es, die eigentliche Problemstellung gut zu verstehen um bessere Lösungsansätze zu finden. Vielleicht werden sogar unnötige, aber aufwändige Berechnungen durchgeführt, die man vermeiden kann. Dies muss nicht offensichtlich sein.

Manchmal erlauben bessere Strukturen, bessere Algorithmen und eine geeignete Architektur eine bessere Performance.

Letztlich landet man aber oft bei Anforderungen, die sich nur durch gezielte Parallelisierung erfüllen lassen. Diese Parallelverarbeitung erfordert besondere Sorgfalt und ein gutes Verständnis der dabei ablaufenden Vorgänge bei der Entwicklung, um sicherzustellen, dass die Applikation sich nicht selbst blockiert oder ihre eigenen Daten zerstört.

Merge Sort Algorithm (image is public domain: http://commons.wikimedia.org/wiki/File:Merge_sort_algorithm_diagram.svg)

Bei Softwareprojekten, die besondere Algorithmen brauchen, kann IT Sky Consulting Ihnen weiterhelfen.

Weitere Informationen:

IT Sky Consulting GmbH
Kirchgasse 17
8203 Schaffhausen
Schweiz
Telefon +41 79 2704802
info@it-sky-consulting.com