Big Data

There are many classical applications that use a relational, transactional database (e.g. postgreSQL, MariaDB, mySQL, Oracle, MS-SQL-Server, or DB2) to store and access their data. Since both computers and databases have reached a very advanced technical standard, it is possible to handle many million data records within a single table, provided you have a carefully modeled and optimized database and good software for retrieval. We all know Wikipedia, which epitomizes this approach and never fails, despite its sheer number of articles and the simultaneous access of millions of users, to immediately deliver the article you were looking for (if it exists).

Having expanded an application to process call data for prepaid wireless service in a previous project, we have the expertise needed to develop applications for the processing of large data volumes within a short time frame.

However, everybody also knows Google, Yahoo, Yandex, and other search engines, where the processed data volumes and simultaneous access are even more gigantic. The above-mentioned databases could hardly manage such a workload; however, ACID transactions are not necessarily required either. Enter Big Data, a technology that opens a world of opportunities, not just for the creation of yet another search engine. It is also a technology that offers advantages for borderline situations that could theoretically still be handled by relational databases, but where a Big Data approach saves you time and money.

It is important to grow a sound understanding of the task at hand and the nature of the data to develop an architecture that allows extensive parallel computing of processes, keeping them as separate as possible. In these cases, NoSQL databases are the data storage facilities of choice.

Having not only used but tailored such a NoSQL database to meet specific business requirements during a previous project, we have the expertise to work with these technologies.

Merge Sort Algorithm (image is public domain: https://commons.wikimedia.org/wiki/File:Merge_sort_algorithm_diagram.svg)

Count on IT Sky Consulting to help you with any software project that requires special algorithms.

IT Sky Consulting GmbH
Kirchgasse 17
8203 Schaffhausen
Switzerland
Phone: +41 79 2704802
info@it-sky-consulting.com

Big Data

Es gibt viele klassische Applikationen, die mit einer relationalen transaktionalen Datenbank (z.B. postgreSQL, MariaDB, mySQL, Oracle, MS-SQL-Server oder DB2) arbeiten, um ihre Datenbestände zu speichern. Da die Rechner und Datenbanken heute sehr gut geworden sind, kann man bei einer sorgfältig modellierten und optimierten Datenbank und einer guten Software, die darauf zugreift, problemlos viele Millionen Datensätze in einer Tabelle handhaben. Wir alle kennen Wikipedia, das diesen Ansatz verkörpert und trotz millionenfacher gleichzeitiger Nutzung und Millionen von Artikeln immer sofort den gesuchten Artikel findet, wenn er da ist.

Weil in einem Projekt für Prepaid-Mobiltelefonie Software für die Verarbeitung der Gesprächsdaten weiterentwickelt worden ist, bestehene gute Erfahrungen damit, auch Applikationen zur Verarbeitung relativ großer Datenmengen in kurzer Zeit mit dieser Technologie zu entwickeln.

Wir alle kennen aber auch die Suchmaschinen von google, yahoo, oder yandex, wo die Datenmenge und die gleichzeitige Nutzung noch um einiges größer ist. Das ließe sich mit den oben genannten Datenbanken kaum realisieren, man benötigt aber auch nicht zwingend ACID-Transaktionen dafür. Damit bewegen wir uns im Bereich "Big Data", der heute ganz neue Möglichkeiten eröffnet, nicht nur für den Bau noch einer weiteren Suchmaschine. Diese Technologien lassen sich aber auch für Anwendungsfälle einsetzen, die mit viel Aufwand noch mit relationalen Datenbanken umsetzbar wären, wo aber ein BigData-Ansatz zielführender ist.

Wichtig ist es hier, ein gutes Verständnis für die Fragestellung und für die Daten zu entwickeln und eine Architektur zu planen, die eine massive Parallisierung von möglichst unabhängigen Verarbeitungsvorgängen erlaubt. Zur Datenspeicherung setzt man hier gerne sogenannte NoSQL-Datenbanken ein.

Da in einem Projekt in der Vergangenheit so eine NoSQL-Datenbank nicht nur benutzt, sondern sogar für die spezifischen Anforderungen des Projekts entwickelt worden ist, sind Erfahrungen im Umgang mit diesen Technologien vorhanden.

Merge Sort Algorithm (image is public domain: http://commons.wikimedia.org/wiki/File:Merge_sort_algorithm_diagram.svg)

Bei Softwareprojekten, die besondere Algorithmen brauchen, kann IT Sky Consulting Ihnen weiterhelfen.

IT Sky Consulting GmbH
Kirchgasse 17
8203 Schaffhausen
Schweiz
Telefon +41 79 2704802
info@it-sky-consulting.com